Page and Buckeye…

Exiting the car at the Pinkneyville Park in Norcross Ga, I noticed a man in a wheelchair. My thought process is pretty linear. He was at the dog park,and appeared rather delightful in demeanor, so I decided to approach him about a short interview and picture with his dog.
What I sometimes forget when I am writing something is that in order to write about anything it is necessary to some degree to process it, so that you can help people get a glimpse of the “subject.”
Well….The mans name is Page Davis. He is 43 years old. He had a normal childhood. In the school years dating from “86”-“89” he attended Miami and Ohio Universities. Then, as he knew it would happen because of a poison lurking in his genes, Page began to lose control of limbs, and would go from walking, to stumbling to six months of using a walker to a wheelchair. Page had a genetic transfered disease called Friedreich’s ataxia.
That was six years ago

I won’t pretend to know a lot about Page. I know he has a good loyal dog named named Buckeye, and I know that the park being “wheelchair accessible”, is a joke. As I walked around the park with my dogs, I kept looking back to Page, confined to the first few yards of grass as you enter the park. 
Thankful to page for reminding me how much I take for granted. This was definitely, the bloggpost I have gained the most from.
Leave a Reply

